The WTA Finals is a professional women’s tennis tournament considered to be one of the most prestigious events after the four Grand Slams and you can watch the WTA Finals Live Streaming for 2021 below.

Looking to watch the 2021 WTA Finals live streaming online?

*Geo-restrictions apply & pre-funded account needed or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours to qualify

It is played among the top-ranked tennis players at the end of every season, where the victor gets a massive prize money and a bunch of ranking points. Top eight singles players and top eight doubles team participate every year, based on their performance on the Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) Tour over a period of 52 weeks in the season.

The 2021 WTA Finals will be played in October in Singapore Indoor Stadium, Singapore on indoor hard courts. This season, the prize money purse is $7 million.

The WTA Finals is a tournament that is played among the eight top players on the WTA Race to the Finals. The tournament is played annually at the end of the season and is said to be the fifth most important tournament in the WTA event’s calendar after the four Grand Slam tournaments.

The WTA Finals is also known to have the largest prize money and ranking points after the Grand Slam tournaments.

The tournament is initially played in a robin-round format. Two groups of four players each are divided and each player in the group has to play once against the rest of the three players in the group.

This is done over the first four days of the tournament. After all the group ties are over, the top two players from each group proceed to the semi finals of the competition.

The player who topped the first group is tied against the player who was the runner up in the second group and similarly, the player who topped the second group is tied against the runner up of the first group. The winners of each of these semi finals advance to the finals for the championship.

In order to qualify for the WTA Finals as a singles player, points are calculated by adding the points earned from 16 tournaments.

Out of these 16 events, the player’s points must reflect her performance in the four Grand Slams, the four Premier Mandatory events, best results from two Premier 5 events and six best results from any other tournaments in the course of the season.

For doubles, the points are considered from 11 events which are non-specific in nature. This means that any combination of 11 events can be considered to get the best points tally. This may or may not include the Grand Slams.

This leads to the formation of a separate table which monitors the ranking of the players, strictly from the perspective of qualifying for the WTA Finals. This table is known as the Road to Singapore, which is updated at the end of every tournament.

Once the playing field is set, the eight singles players are split into two groups of four, which then compete in a robin-round format.

Each other player plays three other players in the group. The top two players from each group then proceed to the semifinal, wherein, the winner of one group competes with the runner-up from the other. The winners of these semifinals then proceed to meet in the final match.

For doubles, the eight teams are split into two halves, with every half being a ‘quarterfinal’.

There is direct elimination here instead of robin round format. The winning teams from two halves then meet in the final for the doubles championship match.

WTA Finals 2021 Schedule & Dates

The WTA Finals schedule for the 2021 edition will be released once the calendar is revealed.

The 2020 edition was to begin in the last week of October in Shenzhen, China but was cancelled because of the pandemic.

Player List for the 2021 WTA Finals

The player list for the 2021 WTA Finals will be revealed towards the end of the season. Last year, the tournament was cancelled.

The players in action during the 2019 WTA Finals were:

Ashleigh Barty, Karolína Pliskova, Simona Halep, Bianca Andreescu, Naomi Osaka (replaced by Kiki Bertens), Petra Kvitová, Elina Svitolina, Belinda Bencic

What Happened at the 2019 WTA Finals?

Ash Barty ended the season on a high when she claimed the 2019 WTA Finals title by beating Elina Svitolina in straight sets in the final.

Earlier, Barty had overcome a set deficit to come through her semifinal against the second seeded Karolina Pliskova while Svitolina defeated Belinda Bencic in three sets.

Elina Svitolina ended her excellent run in 2018 by claiming the biggest title of her career winning the title at the WTA Finals. The sixth seed defeated the fifth seed Sloane Stephens of the United States, 3-6, 6-2, 6-2, to win the 2018 BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore.

Svitolina lost just one of her robin round matches and then she went on a complete rampage and went unbeaten throughout the rest of the tournament. After an epic semi-final against Kiki Bertens, she seemed to be peaking. She went down in the first set in the finals and the she grew into the game and then she did not look back taking the next two sets and sealing her victory.

The other finalist, Sloane Stephens also had a crazy ride en route to the finals. The Dutch came up against Karolína Plíšková, the seventh seed in the semi finals. She got thrashed in the first set by Plíšková but she dug deep and took the next two sets to set up a finals match against Elina Svitolina.

Previous 10 WTA Finals Title Winners:

2020: Not Held
2019: Ash Barty
2018: Elina Svitolina
2017: Caroline Wozniacki
2016: Dominika Cibulková
2015: Agnieszka Radwańska
2014: Serena Williams
2013: Serena Williams
2012: Serena Williams
2011: Petra Kvitová
2010: Kim Clijsters
2009: Serena Williams

2021 WTA Finals Live Streaming Options

There are various ways in which you can live stream the matches in the WTA Finals. The first option is to use any of the below bookmakers to avail of their fantastic tennis live streaming options that include the WTA Finals.

After creating your account with either of them by clicking on the links, you will need to fund your account by putting a deposit of $10 or if you already have a pre-funded account, use it. Then, click on ‘Live Streaming’ tab and select the event you wish to stream live.

The other option is to sign up for WTA TV, a paid feature launched exclusively by WTA which live streams all the matches on the WTA Tour. You can enjoy the matches anytime, anywhere in high quality. You can watch more than 2000 matches live across 47 WTA tournaments.

This will cost you $9.99/month.

WTA Finals 2021 Live on TV

The WTA Finals will be broadcast on television in the following countries. You can watch the WTA Finals live on TV too by subscribing to the following channels:

Australia: beIN
Austria: DAZN
Belarus: Belarus TV
Belgium: beIN
Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Slovenia: IKO SportKlub
Brazil: Sony
Bulgaria: Bulsat
Canada: TVA Sports
Caribbean: SportsMax
China: iQIYI
Chinese Taipei: Sportcast
Czech Republic: O2 Czech Sports
Denmark: TV2
Estonia: Delfi TV
France: beIN
Germany: DAZN
Greece : Cosmote TV
Hong Kong: Now TV
Hungary: Digisport
Italy, San Marino & Vatican City: Super Tennis
Japan: DAZN
Latin America: Sony
Latvia: Best4Sport
Malaysia & Brunei: Astro
Middle East & North Africa: beIN
Netherlands: Fox Sports
Poland: TVP Sport
Romania: Digisport
Russia: Match TV
Singapore: Starhub
Slovakia: Digisport
South Africa: Kwese
South Korea: Eclat
Spain: RTVE
Sub Saharan Africa: Kwese
Switzerland: DAZN
Thailand: Truevision
Turkey: beIN
Ukraine: Match TV, Poverkhnost
UK & Ireland: BT Sport
Vietnam: Vietcontent