Nadal to Join Federer in 2019 Laver Cup

Rafael Nadal won't play the US Open

In what should come as excellent news for tennis fans all around the world, Rafael Nadal has agreed to feature in the 2019 edition of the Laver Cup.

The tournament, which will be played in September 2019, will be in its third edition and this is the second time that Nadal and Roger Federer can be expected to feature in it playing for the Team Europe. Last year, Nadal’s injury had paved the way for Novak Djokovic to represent Europe in the Laver Cup, and they defended the title by beating Team World.

Nadal and Federer had featured in a doubles match together, beating Americans Sam Querrey and Jack Sock in three sets.

The upcoming edition of the Laver Cup will be played in Geneva.

Federer welcomed the move to bring in Nadal for Team Europe and added he was chuffed about the success of Laver Cup, “which in just two years has become so special to all the players who’ve been involved from both teams.”

He added:

“We had a blast in Prague and it will be very special for me to team up with him again in Switzerland to try and defend our title. John McEnroe has made it very clear how motivated Team World is to win and we’ll need to compete hard to stay undefeated.”

Nadal said he was looking forward to being a part of the competition, adding he would do his best to try and defend the title.

The remaining players will be confirmed at a later date with each team represented by six players apiece. Last year, the tournament was played in Chicago with Federer and Djokovic joined by Alexander Zverev, Grigor Dimitrov, Kyle Edmund and Jeremy Chardy in Team Europe.

Team World had Kevin Anderson, John Isner, Diego Schwartzman, Jack Sock, Nick Kyrgios, Frances Tiafoe and Nicolas Jarry after Juan Marin del Potro opted out because of an injury.

About Suneer Chowdhary 1113 Articles
Suneer is a Mumbai-based freelance sports journalist with a special affinity towards cricket and tennis. He has also covered six ICC tournaments including Cricket World Cups and Champions Trophy.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.